Next Concert

prötön!

Musées d’art et d’histoire Genève
Sunday 2. April 2017, 11.00 am

Infos

ensemble proton bern

the lab for contemporary music

The fascinating thing about new music is the composers’ readiness to risk form for content, to risk beauty for the thought provoking, to risk habit for experimentation.

Iannis Xenakis Waarg ensemble…

Alexandre Lunsqui CARRETEIS II …

Stefan Keller Sextett ensemble…

Music both serious and sensorial

New music is the sound of our time, made audible in works by composers of the 20th and 21st centuries, from Schoenberg to Boulez. The fascinating thing about new music is the composers’ readiness to risk form for content, to risk beauty for the thought provoking, to risk habit for experimentation. Daring as opposed to Dvorak.

New music is often considered ‘difficult’ because it appears to challenge the listener only on an intellectual level. The musicians of ensemble proton bern dissolve this misconception with wit and virtuosity, challenging their audience on a sensorial level: with playfully crystalline tones and sounds.

First in, best dressed!

Founded in 2010, ensemble proton bern has established itself as one of the top new music groups. The actual goal is however much greater: they want to bring people closer to new music. To this end, the musicians seek contact to and are able to discuss the contemporary sound world with their audience. It is therefore that ensemble proton bern is so prevalent online: proton’s concert videos on YouTube have been viewed – most unusually for new music – many thousands of times.

On the wind of innovation

The common ground among the nine core musicians is their passionate curiosity for undiscovered musical terrain. For this reason, ensemble proton bern is specialised in premiering new works. These are often commissioned works tailor-made for the particular ensemble makeup. The ensemble boasts being able to offer the rare opportunity to write for special instruments such as lupophone (bass oboe) and contraforte (contrabassoon).

In the search for the ‘new’ in new music, the musicians maintain close contact with well-known composers, but also support exceptional talent. The initiative protonwerk (sponsored by Pro Helvetia) offers newcomers the chance to have their works played by the ensemble at the highest level.

Switzerland goes international

ensemble proton bern attracts interest internationally, as was evident in St. Petersburg recently when the cosmopolitan ensemble from Berne opened the International Festival for New Music reMusik at the legendary Mariinsky Theatre. Upon invitation from Radio France, the group recorded a CD for the label Klarthe in Paris shortly after.

As ongoing ensemble in residence at the Dampfzentrale Bern, however, the musicians are strongly connected to their hometown. Four times per year, ensemble proton bern invites local audiences to experience freshly prepared concert programmes in the own concert series, proton am montag.

prötön!

Nächstes Konzert

prötön!

Musées d’art et d’histoire Genève
So. 2. April 2017, 11.00h

Infos

ensemble proton bern

das Labor für zeitgenössische Musik

Das Besondere an Neuer Musik ist ihre Bereitschaft, für den Inhalt die Form zu riskieren, für das Interessante das Schöne, für das Experiment die Gewohnheit – Wagnis statt Wagner.

Georg Friedrich Haas NachRuf ...…

John Zorn Shibboleth ensemble…

Walter Feldmann « … unsichtbahr Text…

E-Musik? – Ah!-Musik

Neue Musik – das ist der Klang unserer Zeit, wie ihn Komponisten des 20. und 21. Jahrhunderts, von Schönberg bis Boulez, in ihren Werken hörbar machen. Das Besondere an Neuer Musik ist ihre Bereitschaft, für den Inhalt die Form zu riskieren, für das Interessante das Schöne, für das Experiment die Gewohnheit – Wagnis statt Wagner.

Neue Musik gilt oft als schwierig, weil sie den Hörer vor allem auf der Verstandesebene herauszufordern scheint. Die Musiker des ensemble proton bern machen dieses Missverständnis mit Witz und Virtuosität transparent: Ihre Herausforderung ist eine höchst sinnliche – ein Glasperlenspiel der Töne.

Der Erste macht die Türe auf

2010 gegründet, hat sich das ensemble proton bern in seinem Metier an der Spitze etabliert. Eigentliches Ziel ist aber ein höheres: Menschen für Neue Musik zu begeistern. Daher pflegen die Musiker des Ensembles den Dialog mit ihren Zuhörern und stehen ihnen im Gespräch als kenntnisreiche Führer durch die zeitgenössischen Klangwelten zur Seite. Und deshalb ist das ensemble proton bern auch im Internet erfolgreich: Die proton-Konzertvideos auf YouTube werden – höchst ungewöhnlich für Neue Musik – vieltausendfach aufgerufen.

Die Nase im Wind

Den neun Musikern der Kernformation gemein ist ihre leidenschaftliche Neugierde nach unerforschtem musikalischem Terrain. Daher hat sich das ensemble proton bern auf Uraufführungen spezialisiert. Oft sind dies Auftragskompositionen, maßgeschneidert auf den einzigartigen Klangkörper des Ensembles: Unter anderem haben Komponisten die seltene Möglichkeit, Musik für außergewöhnliche Instrumente wie Lupophon (Bassoboe) oder Kontraforte (Kontrafagott) zu schreiben.

Auf der Suche nach dem Neuen in der Neuen Musik halten die Musiker engen Kontakt zu namhaften Komponisten – fördern aber auch herausragende Talente: Mit der Initiative protonwerk (unterstützt von Pro Helvetia) bietet das ensemble proton bern Newcomern die Chance, ihre Werke in hochkarätiger Interpretation erklingen zu lassen.

Von der Schweiz in die Welt

Das ensemble proton bern entfaltet internationale Strahlkraft, wie zuletzt in Sankt Petersburg zu erleben: Mit einem Konzert im legendären Mariinski-Theater eröffneten die musikalischen Kosmopoliten aus Bern das Internationale Festival für Neue Musik reMusik. Gleich darauf reisten sie nach Paris, auf Einladung von Radio France, um dort eine CD für das Label Klarthe einzuspielen.

Als ensemble in residence der Berner Dampfzentrale sind die Musiker überdies ihrer Heimatstadt eng verbunden: Viermal im Jahr lädt das ensemble proton bern zur Konzertreihe proton am montag ein – mit frisch erarbeitetem Programm.